top of page

Baked Sweet Potato Taco Salad

A little twist on a great classic! My mom used to make taco salads every once in a while for us as I was growing up. It was one my favorite meals because I got to eat chips for dinner! Woah! I was also the chef, picking and choosing which ingredients she had on the table to build my perfect dinner. Of course, I always chose more cheese than anything else...

This is my adult version of a taco salad since it has a ton of bonuses for adult life:

1. Sweet potato is a great source of fiber and LOADED with vitamins

2. It's a super quick weeknight meal that requires almost no cooking...

3. So not a lot to clean up afterwards (perfect for when I'm super lazy)

4. Probably the best: it's super versatile!

My husband and I were getting ready to go on our honeymoon this same week. This was the perfect dish to use whatever veggies we had left in the fridge, because who likes to waste food. There was some red cabbage left over from some fish tacos I made a few nights ago, so I just added that in for the hell of it (bonus: it added pretty color too). I usually like this with tomatoes, but alas, didn't have any at the time. It tasted great regardless. So just becuase you don't see an ingredient below, doesn't mean you can't use it! This taco salad is also so easy to make vegetarian, or reduce fat, or fit into any of your dietary needs. YOU ARE the chef here, go to town and make it yours. Use this recipe as a starting point to concoct your own favorite recipe to fit into your life.

Baked Sweet Potato Taco Salad

Makes 2 large servings

2 small sweet potatoes 1 head of romain, sliced

1 cup sliced red cabbage

1 cucumber, sliced 1/4 cup onion, diced

1 avocado, sliced

1/2 cup corn kernels

1 can chili (or left over chili)

Shredded cheese

Salsa

Sour cream or plain greek yogurt Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Bake sweet potatoes for 30-40 minutes until done. While potatoes are baking, slice all the vegetables. In a saucepan over medium heat, heat through chili stirring occasionally. When potatoes are done, place on a plate carefully, slicing and mashing it open to create the base. Then pile on all the vegetables, chili and any cheese or other toppings you like. Serve immediately.

I like to bake my potatoes right on the rack. Go ahead! Free the potatoes! You can also use this time to bake more potatoes than you need for this one recipe and have baked potatoes for another meal later in the week, such as mashed potatoes, use in a soup, dice over a warm salad or potato pancakes. Nothing like prepping two meals at one time!

I keep my pantry stocked with a few cans of chili at all times to help with quick weeknight meals such as this. But this would be just as good with some leftover homemade chili.

This is my own, homemade salsa from the summer, canned with tomatoes and peppers I grew in the garden. It has been a favorite for my husband and I all winter for an easy snack. Stick around to read that post when the weather is warmer! Come on summer!!!

Don't have canned chili? How about some leftover ground beef from a leftover meal? Or just use some canned beans and your favorite hot sauce.

She's biding her time...

Pile it all together however you like. I like to put the cheese right on top of the chili so it gets oozy and melty.

bottom of page