top of page

Chicken Salad Wrap

Howdy ya'll! We got back from our honeymoon in Arizona about a week ago, and I've just let the laziness continue. Vacations are so amazing! But so hard to come back from. This one was absolutely amazing and I was NOT ready to come back after a week. Can I just live in Sedona during winter, eating cactus candy and hiking a different trail every day? And because I know you want them, cough cough, here is a slide show of just a few highlights.

We actually landed during (the last) snow fall here in the Baltimore area... it hurt my soul so much since we had just eaten breakfast in 80 degree sunshine on a patio that morning... But that got me stuck inside and cooking up a storm on Sunday before getting back into a work week, ugh. These chicken salad wraps were the product of some other food I was prepping for the week and inspired by some of the food we ate in Arizona. Tealy also highly approves.

There was a little shop in Jerome, AZ where I got a wrap with chicken salad, grapes, and herbed rice. OMGSOGOOD! So for this I took some leftover chicken off a roaster we bought at the store the day before and made my own version of the wraps, sans herbed rice. What makes it a little different is the cumin and BBQ seasonings. That was KEY to making this a little savory / spicy / sweet. This recipe is gonna be a little different, just the ingredients I used and no measurements. I didn't measure anything. So any measurement I tell you will most likely be a lie. Go with your gut and taste buds and make it your own!

When I finished picking the rest of the meat off the bones for these wraps, I made homemade chicken stock.

 

Chicken Salad Wrap

Shredded and diced cooked chicken* Romain

Spinach

Celery (chopped) Red onion (chopped)

Grapes (cut in halves)

Mayonnaise (or plain greek yogurt)

Spicy brown mustard (just the tiniest little bit!)

Cumin

Salt and pepper

Multigrain wrap

Add chicken, celery, red onion, grapes, mayo, spicy brown mustard, cumin, salt and pepper to a bowl and mix together. Lay out wrap. Take two romain leaves and remove the tough middle vein, laying flat on the wrap. Add some spinach on top the romain leaves like a second thin layer. Add a dollop of chicken salad mixture on top spinach. Fold over opposite sides of the wrap, then tuck in the other sides and roll tightly.

*NOTE: I used BBQ seasoned chicken. You can either use pre seasoned chicken to add more flavor, or add some BBQ dry rub into your chicken salad mixture for a similar taste.

So easy to make with leftover chicken, or fresh! Then just chop a couple more things and...

mix together! This by itself is good. Or put on top lettuce for a salad, or a sandwich, or hey, a wrap! Tealy was also being a little weirdo. She was super interested in what I was doing in the kitchen but not wanting to miss her sun spot... decisions, decisions.

I didn't think to take photos of laying out the romain and spinach on the wrap, but you'll be able to figure it out! By the way, I always use to buy burrito tortillas and used those to make wraps, because... why buy a thing for only one dish when it could work for two and save money right?... and they would tear and fall apart. I finally bought actual WRAP tortillas and they made a world of difference! I'm never turning back.

The temptation was too much. She left her sun spot for the potential of falling crumbs.

All the smells! Tealy is a fan. Have fun making this and let me know if you have other styles of chicken salad you make or a surprise ingredient that makes yours fantastic. I'm sitting here now thinking of an asian inspired chicken salad with bean sprouts, bok choy and teriyaki chicken maybe? OOOO, what about a pad thai chicken salad?! Ok, go make these first, then we can have some more fun later.

bottom of page